National Wheat Yield Contest 2023 Winners

National Wheat Yield Contest 2023 Winners

For Immediate Release

Contact: Mariah Wollweber, 202.547.7800,

National Wheat Yield Contest 2023 Winners

Washington, D.C. (October 23, 2023) – The National Wheat Yield Contest is thrilled to announce the achievements of its 24 national winners, hailing from 12 different states, who have achieved an average yield of 144 bushels per acre across all categories. Additionally, we proudly recognize the 83 state winners representing 28 states, with their remarkable yields averaging 127 bushels per acre across the various categories, including Winter Wheat-dryland, Winter Wheat-irrigated, Spring Wheat-dryland, and Spring Wheat-irrigated. It is worth noting that some dryland category winners are determined by high yield, while others are evaluated based on their percentage over the county average.

One of the highlights this year is the exceptional resilience demonstrated by wheat growers. Despite facing adversity, with 59% of winter wheat production affected by drought on May 9, and 75% of spring wheat production impacted on July 25, these dedicated individuals have showcased their unwavering commitment to maximizing their wheat productivity in spite of environmental challenges. The entry deadlines for the contest, falling on May 15 and August 1 for winter and spring wheat, received robust participation, defying the odds posed by prolonged drought in the central and southern plains, as well as the challenging conditions in spring wheat areas.

“Eastern soft winter wheat areas had tremendous yields this year, and millers are happy with the quality of wheat coming from these areas. It is exciting to see the potential when the genetics, management, and environment are all aligned in the wheat grower’s favor.” Commented Bernard Peterson, Chairman of the National Wheat Foundation, and farmer in Loretto, KY.

The contest not only emphasizes high yield but also places great importance on quality. The 24 national winners will submit grain samples for detailed analysis of milling and baking qualities, with expert panels assessing the wheat samples for quality. Outstanding quality will be rewarded with $250 awards at the reception, and these exceptional quality winners will be officially announced in mid-January.

In recognition of their outstanding achievements, the national winners will be honored with a trip to the Commodity Classic in February 2024, hosted in Houston, TX. The accolades will culminate in a special celebration at the National Wheat Foundation Winner’s Reception on February 28, 2024.

These remarkable individuals not only demonstrate exceptional yields but also exemplify the unwavering spirit and dedication within the wheat industry, setting a high standard for excellence and innovation.

The contest would not be possible without the help of our tremendous partners: John Deere, WestBred, BASF, U.S. Wheat Associates, Croplan, Eastman, The McGregor Companies, AgriMaxx, Ardent Mills, BushelFarm, Dyna-Gro, GrainSense, Limagrain Cereal Seeds, Mennel, North Carolina Small Grain Growers Association, Ohio Corn&Wheat, PlainsGold, UniSouth Genetics, UPL, Grain Craft, Grow Pro, Kansas Wheat, Michigan Wheat, Miller Milling, North Dakota Mill, and Northern Crops Institute.

An additional thanks to Progressive Farmer/DTN, the official publication of the National Wheat Yield Contest.

See the national winners here and state winners here.


Winter Wheat-Dryland

Bin Buster                             Dick Judah                                        OR

1st                                           Derek Berger                                    OR

2nd                                         Randy Eschenburg                           MI

3rd                                          Kent Edwards                                   OH

4th                                          Guy Gochenour                                VA

5th                                          William Willard                                  MD

1st-% Over County               Marc Arnusch                                   CO

2nd-% Over County             Brett Arnusch                                   CO

3rd-% Over County              Travis Freeburg                                NE

4th-% Over County              Casey Cantwell                                CO

5th-% Over County              David Ebers                                      OK

Winter Wheat-Irrigated

Bin Buster                             Chris Gross                                       WA

1st                                           Gary Reynolds                                  ID

2nd                                         Nick Suwyn                                       MI

Spring Wheat-Dryland

Bin Buster                             Brad Disrud                                       ND

1st                                           John Wesolowski                             MN

2nd                                         Lance Olson                                      ND

3rd                                          Trevor Stout                                      ID

1st-% Over County               Austin Kautzman                              ND

2nd-% Over County             Jason Signalness                              ND

3rd-% Over County              Devan Laufer                                     ND

Spring Wheat-Irrigated

Bin Buster                             Dallin Wilcox                                       ID

1st                                           Jess Blatchford                                 OR

2nd                                         Jeff Bieber                                         ND

For more details on the National Wheat Yield Contest, visit For questions on sponsorship of the 2024 contest, contact Anne Osborne


About the National Wheat Foundation

The National Wheat Foundation was established by the industry to serve as the national center for wheat research, education and outreach. The Foundation works to advance the wheat industry through strategic research, education and outreach collaborations, guided by core values of grower centeredness, integrity, honesty and trustworthiness.

The Foundation is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization incorporated and headquartered in Washington, D.C., governed by a nine-member Board of Directors, overseen by Chandler Goule, Executive Director and managed by Anne Osborne, project manager, who is assisted by the staff of the National Association of Wheat Growers, the Foundation’s sole member.

Share article on:

Latest News

For Immediate Release Contact: Elizabeth Rivera | 202-547-7800 | National Wheat Foundation Hosts Wheat Farm Tour Washington, D.C. (June 25, 2024) – On Tuesday, June 25, 2024, the National Wheat Foundation and Maryland wheat grower Eric Spates, hosted a…
For Immediate Release Contact: Elizabeth Rivera | 202-547-7800 | National Wheat Leaders Visit North Dakota Washington, D.C. (April 4, 2024) – This week, officers, committee chairs, and staff from the National Association of Wheat Growers (NAWG) and the National…

Support the Foundation

Your support helps the National Wheat Foundation’s education, research and outreach missions. Participation of wheat farmers, millers, bakers, allied industries and friends leads to innovation and advances in the wheat industry.