Scholarship FAQs

Q: If selected, when do I receive my scholarship funding and is there an award ceremony?

A: If selected, applicants and their parent are invited to the annual 2020 Commodity Classic where the award ceremony will commence, and you can celebrate your achievement while gaining network exposure to industry professionals and commodity growers. The majority of your expenses will be paid for and a scholarship check will be mailed to you around this time.

Q: How do I apply and when is the due date for submission?

A: To be considered a candidate, you must successfully complete the application and email it to ceannello@wheatworld.org on or before the December 1st deadline.

Q: How many scholarships will be awarded and for what academic year are they applied to?

A: The Minore Memorial Scholarship will fund four college scholarships for the 2020-2021 academic year: two \$2,500 scholarships.

Q: Who is Jerry Minore and why offer a scholarship?

A: Jerry Minore was a life time friend and advocate of the wheat industry. This scholarship is awarded in his honor as gratitude for a life time of hard work and devotion to the industry with partnership from his company, BASF.

Q: What is the National Wheat Foundation?

A: Wheat farmers established the National Association of Wheat Growers Foundation in 1977 to "translate industry resources into charitable, scientific and educational achievements." The Foundation's work was intended to provide benefits not only for wheat farmers and wheat users, but for consumers and the general public.

Q: Who is eligible to apply for the Jerry Minore Scholarship?

A: Applicants must be a current freshmen, sophomore, or junior pursuing an agricultural-related degree while enrolled in an accredited college, university, junior, or community

college, and must also: be a member of the National Association of Wheat Growers, have a close relative who is a member of the National Association of Wheat Growers, be nominated by someone sitting on the National Association of Wheat Growers Board of Directors, or a state wheat association board.