PRESS RELEASE: NWF Announces National Winners for the 2019 National Wheat Yield Contest

Washington D.C. (November 12, 2019) – The National Wheat Foundation’s National Wheat Yield Contest offers growers the opportunity to compete with farmers from across the United States and improve their production practices through new and innovative techniques. Today, NWF is announcing the national winners for the 2019 National Wheat Yield Contest.

“A special congratulations to Rick Pearson from Buhl, ID and Tom Duyck from Forest Grove, Oregon for being this year’s Irrigated and Dryland Bin Buster winners,” stated Foundation Board President Wayne Hurst. “This is the second year we have included a quality component into the Contest which not only lead to an increase in applicants but diversified the candidate pool. Because wheat is a food crop, quality is important to our consumers, bakers and millers. Improved quality is very important and critical to increasing demand for wheat.”

The contest recognizes winners in two primary competition categories: winter wheat and spring wheat, and two subcategories: dryland and irrigated.

“NWF would like to thank each grower for enrolling in the NWYC and thank our sponsors for helping to make the Contest available to wheat growers in the United States. Entries for the Contest continue to be on an uphill trend, and this year we received a record-breaking 397 entries,” continued Hurst.

This year’s National winners per category*:

Bin Buster Winners

Rick Pearson
Field Location: Twin Falls County, ID
Variety/Variety Name: AgriPro, SY Ovation
Category: Winter Wheat – Irrigated
Final Yield: 211.59

Tom Duyck
Field Location: Washington, OR
Variety/Variety Name: ORCF, Rosalyn
Category: Winter Wheat – Dryland
Final Yield: 191.66

Spring Wheat WinnerS– High Yield Category


Name Field County/State Variety Variety Name/Number Final Yield   National Rank
Derek Friehe Grant, WA WestBred WB9668 180.77   1st High Yield
Terry Wilcox Madison,ID WestBred WB9668 151.40   2nd High Yield


Name Field County/State Variety Variety Name/Number Final Yield % Increase of Cty Avg National Rank
Trevor Stout Latah, ID WestBred WB9668 111.13   1st High Yield
Brian Lacey Grant, MN WestBred WB9479 103.04   2nd High Yield
Jon Wert Hettinger, ND Limagrain Trigger 101.25   3rd High Yield
Derrick Enos Baker, MT Limagrain Trigger 94.95 239% 1st
Doug Fitterer New England, ND Westbred WB9590 96.07 191% 2nd
Orin Knutson Oslo, MN Westbred WB9590 98.19 78.51% 3rd




Winter Wheat Winners – High Yield Category

Name Field


Variety Variety Name/Number Final Yield   National Rank
Marc Arnusch Weld, CO WestBred WB4418 210.52   1st High Yield
Phillip Gross Adams, WA WestBred WB4394 200.48   2nd High Yield



Name Field County/ State Variety Variety Name/Number Final Yield   National Rank
Doug Stout Latah, ID WestBred Keldin 181.93   1st High Yield
Jason Beechinor Walla Walla, WA Limagrain Artdeco 167.95   2nd High Yield
Nick Suwyn Allegan, MI AgriPro SY-100 165.65   3rd High Yield
Alec Horton Finney, KS WestBred WB4792 146.81   4th High Yield
Ed Evertson Cheyenne, NE PlainsGold Langin 146.77   5th High Yield
Shawn Kimbrel Sunray, TX Westbred Winterhawk 70.93 373% 1st
Travis Freeburg Pine Bluffs, NE AgriPro Monument 125.04 362% 2nd
Rick Horton Leoti, KS Westbred WB4792 132 340% 3rd
CR Freeman Lone Wolf, OK Westbred WB4515 95.29 333% 4th
Ty Anderson Pine Bluffs, WY Croplan CP7909 119.32 298% 5th

The sponsors for the 2019 National Yield Contest are AgriMaxx, Ardent Mills, BASF, Corteva Agriscience, Croplan/Winfield, Indigo Ag, Grain Craft, John Deere, LCS, Mennel Milling, Miller Milling, Syngenta, and WestBred.

*It should be noted winners are selected by the percentage increase their yield exceeds the most recent 5-year Olympic county average as determined by USDA.

**Final yield in bushels/acre

The national winners attending the 2020 Commodity Classic will be recognized during a reception celebrating the Contest and its winners. The 2020 Classic will be held in San Antonio, Texas from February 27th – February 29th. Official rules and entry details for the 2020Contest will be available by January 1st, 2020 at  



About the Foundation
The National Wheat Foundation was established by the industry to serve as the national center for wheat research, education and outreach. Serving our mission, the Foundation works to advance the wheat industry through strategic research, education and outreach collaborations, guided by core values of grower centeredness, integrity, honesty and trustworthiness. The Foundation is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization incorporated and headquartered in Washington, D.C., governed by a nine-member Board of Directors and managed by staff of the National Association of Wheat Growers, the Foundation’s sole member.